March 1, 2012

The history of accreditation of College and Universities which taught Addiction Studies was initiated by INCASE in 1990. In 2011, after urging from federal agencies, INCASE joined with NAADAC and other invested groups to evolve the INCASE Accreditation into the National Addiction Studies Accreditation Commission (NASAC).

INCASE members are still active in the accreditation process, with three of six Commissioners, appointed from among INCASE leadership, and an additional INCASE Board Member/Accreditation Committee Chair sitting on the NASAC Advisory Committee. NASAC is commissioned to accredit US based colleges and universities.

NASAC Commissioners from the INCASE Board:
  • John Korkow, Ph.D.
  • Diane Sevening, Ph.D.
  • Vicki Michels, Ph.D.
INCASE members also serve as evaluators for the NASAC Accreditation Process. These Evaluators also serve on the INCASE Accreditation Committee.

INCASE will continue to offer accreditation to INTERNATIONAL non-US based colleges and universities, using similar standards as the original INCASE Accreditation with the integration of some of the modifications made by NASAC.

The INCASE Accreditation Committee Chair, who is also the INCASE representative to the NASAC Advisory Committee, is Lori Phelps, Ph.D.